FAQ

I’m on a gluten-free diet. Is your product safe for me?

Absolutely! Everything we make is gluten-free, and produced in our dedicated gluten-free facility. Our ingredients are carefully sourced to avoid any cross contamination throughout the supply chain. We have tested all of our products and results have shown zero traces of gluten and dairy. Our double chocolate brownies are gluten free and grain-free.

I’m confused. I thought oats were not gluten-free!

We know it can be a little confusing! Here’s the deal: Many oat processing plants use the same lines for glutinous grains, but oats themselves do not contain any gluten. This means that oats are indeed naturally gluten-free, but we need to be careful to make sure there is no cross-contamination in the processing or the field. We purchase oats that are certified gluten-free to make sure there is no chance of any cross contamination. You can read more about our oats from our oat supplier here.
In the case you are still avoiding oats, please note that only our cookies contain oats. All brownies and blondies do not.

But I thought you weren’t allowed to call oats “gluten-free”!

This used to be true, but times have changed. Here’s some new info from the Canadian government.

What about dairy and eggs?

All of our products are dairy-free, egg-free and vegan.

How are your goods sweetened?

We like a little sweetness, but only use just enough! No sugar highs and crashes here. Our brownies and coconut blondies are sweetened with dates (we use whole pitted dates and puree them). Our peanut butter blondies are sweetened with dates and coconut sugar. All of our cookies are sweetened with a combination of pure organic unsweetened fruit puree (apple or banana) and coconut sugar. All products do contain semi-sweet chocolate chips, which are sweetened with cane sugar. The day they make chips with coconut sugar, we’ll be the first to use them.

Why don’t you use up and coming healthy sweeteners like stevia, monk fruit, or sugar alcohols?

We always have our ear to the ground about new, exciting ways to sweeten foods naturally. However, our approach is to focus on sweeteners that are health promoting, lower on the glycemic index and also contain nutrients (that’s why we use dates, unsweetened applesauce, banana puree and coconut sugar), rather than eliminating all sugars completely. While we have no immediate plans to change any of our existing recipes, we love experimenting with new ingredients over on the blog  - so stay tuned, and we just might show you how to make something yummy with sugar substitutes!

Are you soy-free?

Unfortunately, we’ve found it very challenging to source chocolate chips that are soy-free and available in industrial sizes for production. Our chocolate chips use soy lecithin as an emulsifier, but this ingredient comprises less than 1% of the chip itself. Other than the chocolate chips, we use no other soy ingredients. You could say our goods contain a minute amount of soy.

Are you peanut-free or nut-free?

Not at all. Though we do have a couple of items that do not have nut ingredients (Fully Loaded Cookie, and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie), all items are produced in the same facility. Although we do our best to prevent cross contamination, we are unable to guarantee that any product we produce is nut and/or peanut-free, so please exercise caution if you have any serious allergies.

Here’s a list of our products containing nuts:
Here’s a list of our products containing nuts:

Salted Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blondie: contains peanuts
Double Chocolate Brownie and Chocolate Chocolate Chip Blondie: contains almond milk
Choconut Fully Loaded Cookie: contains almond slices

Are you Non-GMO?

Yes, we are totally Non-GMO.

Are you completely organic?

We use organic ingredients as much as we can, but we are not completely organic due to availability or prohibitive prices (we want to keep our product as accessible as we can, from a price point for you). To keep things as clean as possible, if an item is on the “dirty dozen” list, we pledge to always use organic.

I’m diabetic. Can I have your products?

Our goods are high in fiber, contain a fair amount of protein, and are less sweet than conventional desserts. They have no artificial sweeteners and no white flour. We’ve had many diabetic customers report that 1⁄2 brownie may be the perfect snack, but do talk with your doctor to see what would be best for you.

Do your products taste like chickpeas?

Nope. We promise, you won’t even taste them. 99% of people can’t guess the main ingredient from taste–most think it’s chocolate or cocoa! The few special people who can guess are generally fans of chickpea or bean-based brownies, and are experimental bakers themselves.

I’m so obsessed and would like to purchase large amounts of your products so I never run out! Can I buy directly from you?

While we’re so thrilled you love us this much, at the moment, we only sell our products to resellers. However, take a look at some of our home delivery options if you need a more convenient way to get your Shockingly Healthy fix!

Where can I find your goods?

Our products are sold at many coffee shops, health-food stores, and grocery stores across the greater Toronto area, as well as other cities across Ontario. Enter your postal code here to find your nearest retailer.

I can’t find your products at a store near me. How can I change this?

If your local GTA coffee shop or health food store isn’t selling our goods, Please let us (and them) know you’d like to see Shockingly Healthy products at their store! If you really want to be a Shockingly Healthy super champion, you can also print this page and hand deliver it to your local store manager or bakery buyer to make an even bigger impact!